Goonhavern School Clinch Inter Primary Schools Tennis Title

Schools from Perranporth, Goonhavern, Mithian and St Newlyn East entered the annual primary School’s tournament held at Perran Tennis on the grass courts. Each team consisted of three pairs – some mixed, some boys and some girls. Each pair in each team played six rounds of matches. Some great tennis was on view and tight matches were the order of the day.

Perranporth 2 were placed fourth – the team consisting of Jago Bell, Alica Curnow, Callum Tutt, Martha Holmes, Annabelle O’Riordan and Anou Sabetian with 93 points. Accumulating 121 points in third place were Mithian. Their team consisted of Tom Dingle, Jowan Kerry, Lucy Cook, Gorran Teagle, Dylan Gardner and Lleyton Stribley.

Runners-up and winner’s medals were presented by Club Chairman Peter Lampier who commented on the friendliness of the players and the spirit the game was played in. The eventual runners-up were Perranporth 1 consisting of Guy Hillary, Emily Dutson, Connor Wharton, Ruby Hammonds, Toby Retallack and Amy Georgelin. Perranporth 1 scored 170 points. The winners, Goonhavern were consistent throughout and deservedly took top spot with 201 points. The team of Albie Gosling-Brown, Sebastian Bartlett, Maddie Gosling-Brown, Joe Baker, Will Marney and Thomas Palmer are pictured with their winner’s medals.

Perran Tennis host the County Finals of the Road to Wimbledon this week.



Perran Tennis

A Club for the Community

Serving both Perranporth, the wider community in Cornwall and visitors, we have six grass courts, three newly resurfaced floodlit hard courts, a historic club house built in 1914 and car parking.