Perran A v Perran B

Perran Tennis holds Gnasher’s Games and raises over £850

Last Saturday saw twelve teams of four ladies and girls take to the hard courts in glorious sunshine. The seventy-two players were supported by many spectators. Most teams came in fancy dress, a special mention to team “Fluffy Balls” as the most adventurously dressed four.

“Dennis” a four aside competition format invented by the ladies of Perran Tennis enabling the serving aspect to be removed with two players at the back rotating on the starts and two at the net.

The event raised £857.80 for “Children with Cancer” in the name of Caroline. Caroline the niece of two of our members underwent chemo and radio therapy both in the U.S.A. and in the U.K. Following five hours of tests the previous day Caroline travelled from Newcastle to attend the event and give out the medals and trophy. Her tests all proved clear.

Sixty-six matches were played in the round-robin phase with t-shirts being purchased for bonus points! Teams that played well, but did not make the last four were Double, Double Trouble, Damsels in Distress, Mini Minxes, Back to the Ace’ties, Nasty Gnashers, Fluffy Balls, Women in Black and the Tooty Fruities

Top Scorers Riversider’s faced fourth placed Boscawen Babes. The Riversider’s ran out winners by 10 to 4. Second placed 118 118 took on third placed Menaces. In a tight game 118 118 overcame Menaces by 10 points to 7.

The final was watched by a large crowd of spectators. A fascinating battle took place which eventually saw the Riversider’s take the “Dennis” trophy (donated by the Beano) by 10 points to 4.

The trophy, winner’s and runners-up medals were presented by Caroline assisted by Club President Dave Pell. Special thanks were given to Alison Luck for providing the lunch assisted by Janey Whatley and Joey Holmes. Club Coach Steve Luck presented Caroline with a Beano Annual signed by the Editor.



Perran Tennis welcomes L.T.A. President

Perran Tennis welcomed Martin Corrie, L.T.A. President on his visit to the Club as Southwest Regional winners of Highland Spring Club of the Year. Martin was accompanied by his wife Janet and county officials Hilary Webster, Malcolm Peters and Sue Eames. Peter Lampier, Club Chairman took the party on a tour of the Club. During the tour Club Coach and Development Officer Steve Luck described the history of the Club from its inception in 1896 to the present day.

Martin was interested to learn how the membership had in increased from under 30 members to 325 in six years and how the four projects were undertaken with the assistance of funding from Sport England, SITA Cornwall Trust, Cory, L.T.A. Southwest, Tennis Cornwall and Tesco. The Club through the involvement of key members has under gone a renaissance. Hard courts have been resurfaced, power has been brought to the Club allowing flood lit tennis for the first time. The 1914 pavilion has seen a refit internally and an external make over including a new roof. Following a vehicle smashing into the rear of the building a wooden barrier has been installed.

The latter part of the tour involved the viewing of the fourth project which was underway. Committee member Rob Pippin (Project Manager) explained how the levelling, drainage and reseeding of the grass courts was being undertaken.

As refreshments were served Martin keenly took photographs. In conclusion Peter Lampier presented the President with a photographic collage produced by committee member Jon Mallett to commemorate his visit.

In the photograph (left to right) Martin Corrie is seen receiving his memento from Peter Lampier in the same seat and position as past chairman Winston Graham sat decades ago.

Perran Tennis Club Championships

On a very wet Saturday Perran Tennis held the annual Ladies and Men’s Singles tournament. With the grass courts, out of action due to the weather conditions a reduced format was followed on the hard courts. The men’s two sections produced two closely contested semi-finals, whilst the ladies saw June Fallow and Jan Higgs through to the final.

Chris Legg narrowly lost to Oliver Walker 7.10 as did Steve Hawken 8.10 to the holder Martin Marney. The lady’s final produced a turnaround from the round-robin stage seeing June Fallow take the title in defeating Jan Higgs 10.4. Oliver Walker took the men’s title for the second time winning by a score of 10.5 against the athletic Martin Marney.

Trophies and medals were presented by Club President Dave Pell.

Photograph left to right – Jan Higgs, June Fallow, Dave Pell (President), Oliver Walker and Martin Marney

Peter with Martin Corrie

Club Chairman Peter Lampier with L.T.A. President Martin Corrie during his visit 14th September 2017 

Peter presents Martin Corrie with a souvenir photo board to commemorate his visit to the Club 

Prior to leaving Martin Corrie requested a photograph in front of our pavilion